Lesson 1323 – The writer’s muse

When I have a free day I try to go to the library the next town over where they have the space and quiet I need to set up and write for hours. I can’t tell you how much work I can get done in just a little bit of uninterrupted peace and removed from the household’s demands.

Around the library hidden like precious chicken eggs in the grass are fantastic pieces of art. When I make my way to my hidden corner, I get to see an ever changing display of watercolor and oil paintings of fields, woods, and places still to be discovered. They inspire my imagination as I prepare to recapture my writer’s muse.

Always, I walk past this particular piece. It’s one of my favorites and always puts me in the perfect mood for losing myself in my words.

20150929_112702

 

***

Wendy Thomas writes about the lessons learned while raising children and chickens in New Hampshire. Contact her at Wendy@SimpleThrift.com

Also, join me on Facebook to find out more about the flock (children and chickens) and see some pretty funny chicken jokes, photos of tiny houses, and even a recipe or two.

Like what you read here? Consider subscribing to this blog so that you’ll never miss a post. And feel free to share with those who may need a little chicken love.

9 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, Personal, Points to ponder, The Family

9 responses to “Lesson 1323 – The writer’s muse

  1. Do you know the artist’s name for this piece? I really like it too. I recently had my grown son die and this reminds me of his spirit of playfulness. Any information you could obtain would be very helpful. Even a phone number of the library and maybe where this piece is located would be helpful. Thank you so much.

    • Wendy Thomas

      I am do very sorry to hear about your son. As another mom, I simply can’t imagine.

      I plan to be at the library on Thursday and will be sure to get that information for you.

      Wendy

      On Tue, Oct 6, 2015 at 3:05 PM, Lessons Learned from the Flock wrote:

      >

  2. Thanks. It is a tough week with his birthday tomorrow.

  3. Bruce Marks

    The small sculpture “Dancing Figure” was purchased in 1990 with several others by the Burbank Fund for the Nashua Public Library. I’m not 100% certain but I think the artist was Ken Dalle and he was based in the Southwest.

  4. I located more information on the piece:
    “Running Indian” purchased from Eula Bruce, President dba Tribal Arts, Eulell Corporation, 291 Zion Part Blvd., Springdale, Utah 84767, 801-772-3353. Again, purchased in 1990. Good luck!

    • Wendy Thomas

      Thank you Bruce for posting this information.

      Wendy

      On Tue, Nov 10, 2015 at 11:34 AM, Lessons Learned from the Flock wrote:

      >

  5. Thank you so much for the information. I have been dealing with Mike’s house and all his stuff. I’ll try to get over to Nashua sometime before I go back home to Florida. Bruce Marks thanks also to you for your interest and research.
    Kate

Leave a comment