Project Chickens before the Eggs – Lesson 237 -more chickens from Vietnam

And now for your entertainment, more pictures of chickens taken by my sister who is currently over in Vietnam on a business trip. (and yes, while there she is seeing more than just chickens but these are the photos that are absolutely fascinating me).

In an earlier post, Peg mentioned that she saw lots of Roosters who appeared to all be getting along. Alas, no photo was sent with that comment so I emailed her to see if she had more pictures. (now remember where she is? isn’t this just amazing?? I can show my age by telling you that I remember when instant Poloroid pictures were considered High Tech and here I am getting instant photos of chickens from halfway around the world)

Peg obliged me by sending two more photos. In the first here, yes indeed, there are several roosters who do appear to be getting along quite well. Hoo-ray for Vietnamese roosters, perhaps we can all learn a thing or two from them.

And then in this beautiful photo we see a mama hen taking care of and protecting her baby chicks.

Some things simply transcend boundaries.

If you want to read more about Peg’s adventures in Vietnam – click here.

1 Comment

Filed under All things chickens, Chickens in travel, Life Lessons, Project Chickens before the Eggs, Reader's stories, The Family

One response to “Project Chickens before the Eggs – Lesson 237 -more chickens from Vietnam

  1. Hey there sis: Just got back from the Anh Linh School in District 7 (South Saigon). While riding on the back of a motorscooter along with 10.6 million people in Saigon who are also riding motorscooters at the same time, I spotted urban chickens in front of a shop down from the school so I might try to snap that photo for you as well. Viet Nam is quite different than I ever imagined. The urban chickens live about 5 miles away from the totally posh section near the opera house. Here are a few interesting facts: words in Vietnamese are one syllable each. Thus, the correct way to write Vietnam is Viet Nam. For Saigon it would be Sai Gon, for Hanoi it would be Ha Noi.

    This brings me to children. Vietnamese language is very dependent upon age. So an older woman is called Baa, an Auntie is Co, a young woman is Chi and children are Me. Xin Loi Baa/Ong/Co/Chi/Eng means “I am sorry old woman/old man/auntie/young woman/young man.”

    So you can imagine my horror when the classroom of girls I was teaching were baaing like sheep, until I realized that they were trying to individually get my attention by calling (affectionately) “Old woman, Old woman”

    Sigh.

Leave a comment