Lesson 1112 – Wisdom for Hen Keepers Book review + giveaway

Just yesterday I wrote about how all you really need when keeping a flock is one good chicken care book, (and a good egg recipe book) the rest you can find out on the internet by reading blogs, writing on boards, or joining online communities.

wisdom hensAnd then I was sent a chicken care book to review.

I have to say that Wisdom for Hen Keepers – 500 Tips for Keeping Chickens by Chris Graham (Taunton Press) is a book*I’m* going to be keeping on my chicken shelf for a long time (I’ll also be bringing it with me when I teach my chicken workshops.) Reading the book is kind of like hearing your grandfather talk about his experiences raising chickens. If you don’t have grandparents around, then all the more reason for this delightful and informative book.

Organized in short, little “tips” form, this book covers:

• Getting Started with Hens
• Hen Keeping equipment
• Choosing your birds
• Basic Run set up
• The Right Housing
• Feeding and Welfare
• Good Husbandry
• Hatching and Rearing
• Tackling Common Problems
• Exhibition and Hen Rescue

Each of the 500 tips is presented in roughly a half-page layout. Short, quick and to the point and with advice on things like: “Be aware of the “bird flu” and how to protect from it”, “There is a bird type for everyone just find yours”, and “Discourage your hens from roosting in the nest boxes.” Each time I turned a page, I learned something I hadn’t known.

Illustrated with gorgeous, whimsical wood cuttings, Wisdom for Hen Keepers is filled with the type of sage advice that only comes from true experience like “Removable components (in the coop) are easier to clean.” Sounds obvious right? But as someone who may be starting out, that’s probably not one of the things you think about.

Included is a lot of practical advice (the best kind) like a section on “candling your eggs at the right time” followed by advice on “DIY egg-candlers can work just as well.” Experienced people don’t want to waste money on newfangled inventions when tried and true methods will work.

There’s an excellent index and the grouping of information into chapters helps you to find that topic you want to read about or, like me, you can start on page one and just keep going. Even though I don’t exhibit birds, I still found that chapter interesting.

Wisdom for Hen Keepers is not your typical chicken care book, but you’ll find yourself picking it up and reading it when you have the time and then re-reading it because you find it so interesting and filled with such down-to-earth advice.

It’s not often I crow about something, but this book definitely deserves attention. Check it out for yourself or someone you know who raises and loves chickens.

***

Giveaway Information

I don’t do this often because giveaway contests are not really my style, but the publishers have said that they would provide a copy of this book for one of my readers. I wish I could give you all a copy, but we’ll have to do it this way. Trust me, this book is that good for me to have this giveaway.

If you are interested in Wisdom for Hen Keepers, please leave a comment below (do not leave your email or mail address – I’ll contact you.) I’ll pick a winner on Monday morning.

 

Note: I was given a copy of Wisdom for Hen Keepers – 500 Tips for Keeping Chickens. I am not affiliated with the publishers and am receiving no compensation for this post. Just passing on good information when I find it.

***

Wendy Thomas writes about the lessons learned while raising children and chickens in New Hampshire. Contact her at Wendy@SimpleThrift.com

Also, join me on Facebook to find out more about the flock (children and chickens) and see some pretty funny chicken jokes, photos of tiny houses, and even a recipe or two.

Like what you read here? Consider subscribing to this blog so that you’ll never miss a post. And feel free to share with those who may need a little chicken love.

16 Comments

Filed under Living Tiny in a Big House, Uncategorized

16 responses to “Lesson 1112 – Wisdom for Hen Keepers Book review + giveaway

  1. Sheri Lee

    I would love to add this to my “chicken library”!

  2. Hello Wendy,

    It’s always nice to interact with fellow chicken lovers. My teenage son and I share this love.

    A copy of Wisdom for Henkeepers would be a blessing. Thanks for What you do.

    Line & Gabriel Green

  3. Carol Levine

    My sister in Washington has chickens. One of them, Sarabeth, is the subject of much family discussion and humor. We’re always trying to get my Mom to knit for Sarabeth, her chicken ‘grandchild’, the way she knits for all the grandchildren and great-grandchildren and children of friends, et alia. If you choose me, I will give this fine book to my sister!

  4. Meagan

    You can never have too many books, or too many chickens! I’d love to have a book full of lots of chicken tips.

  5. pamladds

    Definitely interested. Flock talk from experienced chicken stewards is always worth having.

  6. Tessa Dyer

    Always searching for more chicken knowledge! This book would be a great addition and my 13 year old would love to read another book on chickens!

  7. barbara Chase

    I have a friend in Wilton who has always wanted a flock. I gave him your link last week. This book will definitely get him started (and give him a true picture of the not so romantic parts of keeping flocks).

  8. Karen Page

    I would love a copy of this book! We are chicken keeping newbies for about a month now, and can use all the help we can get!

  9. Donna castor

    Would love the book. We are going to be getting chickens next spring after 25 years without them! We miss them.

  10. Ellen

    Would love a copy. I can’t read enough about Chickens. Even if its the same info over and over. Can’t get enough. Love your blog

  11. Pam Clark

    Looks like a great book! I think if I don’t win it I will need to buy it! I saw mama hen being eaten today! Hope she made it out alive ! Haha.
    Grrrrrr-ouch
    There was a special chicken,
    Though she was quite a grouch.
    She laid square eggs and talked a lot,
    But all she said was OUCH!!!!

  12. Bev Brinkman

    I would love to have a copy of this book. I haven’t raised chickens since I was 18. I am in a completely different climate and have lots to learn

  13. fngrpntr

    Your great review has convinced me that I need this book! Thanks, Wendy.

  14. Hi Wendy, I love your blog and follow it daily. You have so much knowledge to share and one always has more to learn. I would love to win this book.
    It sounds like I still have a lot to learn.
    Arlene Pfeiffer

  15. Melanie Dunn

    Would love a copy of the book! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

