Lesson 1083 -NO CROW Collars (+ giveaway)

I don’t normally do “giveaways” on my blog. Nothing irritates me more than going to a blog and seeing a post that’s really an advertisement for an item. And if you want to get a chance in winning it, you need to:

  • Comment
  • Tweet
  • Put something on Facebook
  • Sign-up for the blog
  • Give up the rights of your first-born child

I know it’s a (cheap) way to generate traffic to your blog, but I’d just rather work on telling stories.

Having said that, guess what??? Today I’m offering a giveaway!!!!

Little background – I recently wrote an article in Backyard Poultry about ways to keep roosters quiet. One of the methods I wrote about was something called the NO CROW collar. The collar was a stiff band that went around the rooster’s neck preventing him from taking a deep breath.

It sounded like a great idea and so I included the information.

Two people recently contacted me to get more information on the product. One wrote:

I read with interest your article in BACKYARD POULTRY about “Noisy Birds”. My son who lives in the city of St. Louis has acquired too many roosters and the neighbors are not happy.

Been there, done that. Another reader wrote:

I enjoyed your article on roosters. I have had hens for 4 or 5 years now and have been interested in having a rooster but always shied away from them for the noise factor with the close neighbors. We have just eaten the ones that end up being boys in the past. This year I ended up with two roosters again and really want to keep them so I can start learning about breeding some of my own chicks. Therefore your article was very timely and informative. I would like to ask you more about the rooster collars. Is there a place to get some? Or a pattern or instructions for making one? Maybe a picture? Or possibly some way to get a hold of the inventor, Lauren Taylor? I really need to find some answers to this crowing problem and those collars sound like just the ticket. My husband is about to try some zip ties around the boys’ necks after reading the little section on the collars but I would like to learn a bit more about how Taylor went about it first. I am guessing the collar would need to go under the feathers but like I said, I have many questions. Thanks for any help you can give me in this quest.

Uh oh, I thought, I certainly hope that people don’t start putting zip ties on roosters because of my article (but to be honest, I recognized the desperation in trying to keep those boys quiet – again, been there.) A zip tie is too thin and it can harm the rooster’s neck, please don’t use it. I had planned to put a post up today explaining the collars in a little more depth ….

And then on Saturday I received a package of NO CROW collars from Lauren. She included a size Large for my birds (we currently don’t have a rooster but let’s face it, it will just be a matter of time) as well as a full set with all sizes as a give-away for my blog (XS, S, M, L, XL)

IMG_20140728_081638574

Here’s information on the collars:

As you can see they come in various sizes and consist of a stiff, webbed band that Velcros (velcrows?) around the bird’s neck. They do not go under the feathers but instead the band lays on top. I haven’t seen them in action yet, but apparently they work by not allowing the birds to take the deep breath needed for a crow. It certainly sounds reasonable.

The inventor is Lauren Taylor. Her website is www.NoCrowRoosterCollars.net and you can reach her by email at info@nocrowroostercollars.net

I’m very excited about these collars because I preach (and preach) that roosters do not belong in a backyard flock where there are close neighbors. They just don’t. But if this collar prevents that mind-numbing crow (that comes at all hours) then just maybe, a few roosters could live in a backyard flock and avoid the soup pot (or being abandoned in the woods.)

Here’s the giveaway information, if you want a chance to get these collars (the set goes out as one) then you have to leave a comment on this post – I’d also like you to report back to all of us how the collar worked on your rooster (so if you don’t have roosters, please don’t leave a comment.)

If you’re willing to try these out and let us know how they worked, then go ahead and leave a comment below. Do not put your address in the comment, if you are chosen, I’ll contact you. That’s it, trust me, I don’t want your first-born, I already have my hands full with my own six kids.

A random commenter will be chosen and I’ll let you know who it is on the Friday post.

If you have any questions about the collars, go ahead and ask and if I don’t know the answer, I’ll try to find it out for you.

THIS GIVEAWAY HAS ENDED.

***
Wendy Thomas writes about the lessons learned while raising children and chickens in New Hampshire. Contact her at Wendy@SimpleThrift.com

Also, join Wendy on Facebook to find out more about the flock (children and chickens) and see some pretty funny chicken jokes, photos of tiny houses, and even a recipe or two.

Like what you read here? Consider subscribing to this blog so that you’ll never miss a post. And feel free to share with those who may need a little chicken love.

34 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

34 responses to “Lesson 1083 -NO CROW Collars (+ giveaway)

  1. I have two roosters that are just starting to crow so I would be really interested in trying these out!🙂

  2. I have one roo, and while it doesn’t bother our neighbors (we live in the woods a bit), it would be nice to have a little less crowing so early in the morning. We’d be happy to leave feedback on the collar too.

  3. Serenity

    This would be nice to have if we get a rooster in next years batch. My kids are very small and won’t like to give away their pets but there is a no rooster law in my city limits.

  4. Candy Salter (aka Grandma Chook)

    Because most all of my chicks grow up to be roosters, I could REALLy use a pack of these. My 22 chickens consist of 5 crowing roosters, 16 constantly cackling hens, and a very rooster-looking chick. While others may call it a cacophony, I think of it as a COCKphony. In other words, there is only silence in the hen pen from dark until just before dawn — but I’m happy to have at least that break. Thank you!

  5. I have had to re home so many boys. would love to take the frustration and sadness out of hearing that first wobbly crow.

  6. I have 2 rooster currently and, in the past, have had to remove them from the flock because of disturbing the neighbors. These 2 are sweet little cochins and this may be the perfect thing. I do love my little guys. WOuld be happy to report back!

  7. Tricia Bugg

    I have a three month old Sicilian buttercup roo that could use a collar. I’d love to try these before rehoming him. Thanks🙂

  8. Jodi Sadler

    We bought straight run for the first time in 3 years and unfortunately 4 of the 8 are roosters. We live in town in a neighborhood and I cringe every morning at 5:30 as they start crowing. We were thinking we were going to have to rehome but this might be the answer. I like having roosters in the flock as they are very protective of the hens against hawks, etc.

  9. Sherry Jones

    We too had a straight run with little roos included….would love to try the collars as they do call at ALL hours!

  10. Heidi

    I would love to try one of the collars out in my Phoenix Roo. While our neighbors aren’t too close and so haven’t complained, it would be nice to hear less crowing when I’m in the yard as they free range and he is very vocal! Thanks!

  11. I have one rooster now, maybe 2 more just hatched. Sadly any previous roos have gone off to freezer camp. Pick me, please

  12. Melissa

    I would love to try these out and report back. I’m the one with the zip tie husband and yes I thought that was a bad idea. Now that some one else is backing me up I won’t let him try it out. It would be great to keep my big boys for awhile and have some chicks.

  13. I would love to try one on King George he starts crowing at 4:30 a.m.! My new neighbors are not a fan! I would love to do a post about how it works! http://www.muckingmoms.com

  14. Bev Brinkman

    I would love to try the no crow collars. We have no bark collars for the dogs. I would like a rooster so I can hatch my own chicks. My roommate says no way because they are too noisy. This might be the solution.

  15. Carol Ann Hughes

    I’d love to at least try the no crow collar before buying. I have 16 hens and 4 pet roosters and at 3:30 AM every morning it’s wakey wakey for the entire neighborhood. I’m sure they all hate me and my beautiful boys.

  16. Michelle Benge

    I want one of my young ones to be a boy so bad. I love how the males protect the hens, but 1 out of 3 neighbors didn’t like my last rooster crowing. The other 2 miss him as I do. I live in town so to keep the peace I re homed him. I’ve heard about these. If they work that would be a huge blessing to me. Can’t wait to hear some feedback on these!

  17. shirley taylor

    this is a miracle for 3 giant speckled sussex roosters. they are very tame but everytime anybody moves, they will crow. the neighbors are angry and i decided to put them in the stew pot this week. if these collars work, i will hold off a bit. they are 18 months and it would hurt to kill them, it would be great to try them on these guys.

  18. Kim Brandt

    I just wish I had heard about these collars last year when I had to give up my very favorite rooster ever, a Jersey Giant named Jethro who had the biggest black eyes and longest eyelashes. He was the son I never had. But the lady who took him gave me an egg from one of his new hens, I put it in my bra and carrier it around all day until I got home and placed it under a broody hen. 3 weeks later, Jethro Jr. was born. And now he’s starting to crow. I don’t want to have to give him up, too. Thanks for the tip!

  19. We have a great rooster but he does have the annoying habit of reponding to any little sound at night by crowing. If we could just keep hime quiet at night I am sure we would be more popular with the neighbors! Thanks!

  20. Pingback: Lesson 1083 -NO CROW Collars – discussion | Lessons Learned from the Flock

  21. Angela Easter

    I like others have shied away from getting a rooster because we live in the city and we have always had trouble with the noise factor! I would love to win one!

  22. We have several roosters (different sizes, of course our Bantam Frizzle roo is the king of the roost) that like to have crowing competitions at all hours of the day. Our neighbors have been very tolerant thus far, however we would love to keep the volume down a bit (though I admit I will miss the sound a bit, they each have a different crow so I know who it is when I hear them).

    I have also been curious about these collars for clients who purchase strait run chicks from me (many of them are getting started with backyard flocks). A lot of these people become very attached to all of their birds, some of which end up being boys and are not allowed to be in backyards in the city. I am hesitant to recommend a product that I have not tried myself, but after reading your article in Backyard Poultry my interest was peaked. With several sizes of roosters a complete set of the collars would be great so I can see how each size fits and works. Hope to win the contest, would love to give this product a try. Even if I don’t, thanks for the website link! Will end up with a couple collars either way😉

  23. Maria Clarke

    I would love to try this I hatched some polish chicks and I know i have at least 2 roo’s😦 and i have always had to find homes for them😦 i would love to be able to keep my roosters and love to try this out.

  24. Sherl

    I have one Ameracauna Rooster who was supposed to be a pullet but alas the folks at the hatchery can’t be 100%. By law I am not allowed a rooster in the city limits so it’s just a matter of time before my little roo will have to go. I would love to try one of theses collars so he could stay with his mate.

  25. Susan

    I rescued a bunch of chicks that turned out to all be roos. We had fallen in love with one little bantam chick who, yes, turned out to be a roo. We can’t have roos but he is the most adorable little guy. He has brought me great joy when I recently needed all the joy I could get. And, well, Blizzard is now famous! He has his own Facebook page and friends all over the world. Blizzard would REALLY like a crow collar!

  26. Kim Memmesheime

    We’d really love to learn if these work as we’d love the beauty of a rooster in our flock!

  27. I have 1 rooster that is about to lose his happy home. This collar just may allow Ozzie to stay here?,

  28. My surprise rooster is less than two weeks away from the crock pot. I found your article/giveaway via Facebook, and this may be the tool needed to save the bird from going to Crock Pot Farm.

  29. We have a 1st place 2013 Gold Country fair giant blue Cochin that could use a muffler! He is so loud!

  30. Carol

    I would love to try this out on my 2 roosters, and would be happy to report back.

  31. Hi, currently we have 17 young an 3 elder roosters. Some of the young already crow. I breed German Faverolles and often get requests on hens only because people are afraid about their neighbours. This collars might be THE solution for many roosters not to be eaten only because of their crowing. I wisch I could try the collars on my roosters…

  32. I have a friend that would appreciate this…
    I don’t have a rooster, but I have a husband. Do you have a NO SNORE collar?🙂

  33. Carman G

    Hi All,
    Just my 2 cents worth, I’d say compared to people who declaw cats which I personally think is pretty cruel, I’d have no problem using these collars. I’m just trying to explore reasonable options and a tiny bit of discomfort (which they will adapt to anyway) to keep my pet will not be a problem. As a new chicken owner I hatched my own eggs so chances are good a boy will happen and I Luv all of my baby birds… I think the collar is a great idea base on all I’ve found. Luck to all.

  34. Weimin Deng

    I would love to try this out on my 3 roosters, and would be more than happy to report back about how it works!

Leave a Reply

