Lesson 1024 – Quotable Chicks

Friday’s Quotes for the Chicks

Little New Hampshire Red Riding Hoods

Little New Hampshire Red Riding Hoods

Grown means nothing to a mother. A child is a child. They get bigger, older, but grown? In a mother’s heart each will always be her baby. Anon.

Last week I got 9 new chicks, a little earlier than I had expected, but welcomed none the less.

This week, I got the rest of my order, 3 teeny, tiny New Hampshire Reds. These little ones are just bitty, in fact, if you look at the photo, you can still clearly see their egg tooth. (Yes, chickens do have teeth, but really only one, and just for a short while.)

That makes 12. We have a dozen new chances to make friends and with which to have adventures. I see so much possibility in these chicks, just as I did when I first looked into the eyes of each of my children.

My son is back from his freshman year at Norwich, meaning all six kids are home for the summer, and we have babies in the house.

It’s going to be a great Mama Hen’s day this Sunday.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the Mama Hens everywhere, cherish your chicks.

*****

 Be safe and see you all next week.

***
Wendy Thomas writes about the lessons learned while raising children and chickens in New Hampshire. Contact her at Wendy@SimpleThrift.com

Also, join me on Facebook to find out more about the flock (children and chickens) and see some pretty funny chicken jokes, photos of tiny houses, and even a recipe or two.

Like what you read here? Consider subscribing to this blog so that you’ll never miss a post. And feel free to share with those who may need a little chicken love.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Lesson 1024 – Quotable Chicks

  1. Happy Mothers Day to you! Sounds like a wonderful full house. The chicks are adorable!! Anne

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY! I love the photo of the chicks. They’re darling. Look’s like you’ll have a great Mother’s Day!

  3. Happy Mother’s Day to you, Wendy! Enjoy your chicks! Mine have all flown the coop. Lovely memories will do.

  4. Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out
    and tell you I really enjoy reading your articles.

    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects?
    Thanks a lot!

  5. Hey there! I realize this is kind of off-topic however I needed to ask.

    Does operating a well-established website like yours require a large amount of work?

    I am brand new to blogging but I do write in my diary everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my personal
    experience and feelings online. Please let me know
    if you have any ideas or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.
    Thankyou!

  6. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon every day.
    It’s always exciting to read through articles from other writers and use something
    from their websites.

  7. gaming laptops under 600 dollars

Leave a Reply

