Lesson 882 – A game of chicken

IMG_20131026_222049633

If you follow my Thursday posts, you know that I have been diagnosed with chronic Lyme and am currently being treated for it with large amounts of antibiotics. And if you’ve been reading my weekly updates, you know that I’ve been struggling with keeping those meds down.

I have to take them on an empty stomach and sometimes, they just don’t sit well.

On Saturday night, Marc and some friends of ours went to see Rocky Horror Picture Show at a local theater. The movie started at 10 and wasn’t going to be over until about 12.  Knowing this, I had planned my dinner before the movie and then only had a drink at the theater to ensure my stomach would be empty when I took the meds at 11:00 p.m.

At about 11:20 p.m. I knew I was in trouble. I started salivating (a sure sign) and my stomach started rolling. I started getting *that* feeling at the bottom of my throat.

Oh no, I thought to myself, as I looked around at the audience dressed up like characters from the movie and throwing props around, I think I’m going to lose it at the movies.

I glanced at the aisles, hoping to find a quick escape and hoping even more that if I didn’t make it, someone would think that either 1. I’m just another Saturday night drunk, or 2. This is performance art at its best.

By concentrating on the movie and staying v-e-r-y still, I was able to make it to the end.

But then came the car ride home.

Please, I prayed, no red lights, no car accidents along the way. Please let there be no delays. Marc wanted to talk, I replied in close-mouthed replies.

“That was fun.”

“Um-hum”

“What a mess everyone made in the theater.”

“Um-hum.”

Marc fed me a peppermint (we keep an emergency stash in the car for just this reason) and I sat still and concentrated on my driving and the music while I played the ultimate game of chicken.

People smile and tell me I’m the lucky one,

(don’t throw up)

And we’ve only just begun.

(don’t throw up)

Think I’m gonna have a son.

(don’t throw up)

 

He will be like she and me, as free as a dove,
Conceived in love.
Sun is gonna shine above.

(please let it shine down on me)

By the grace of a kind and generous God, I was able to make it all the way to our driveway at which point, I immediately stepped out of the car and re-christened our driveway once again. (pregnant 6 times, remember?)

“Boy, you’re good,” said my husband, clearly impressed at my herculean abilities.

Yeah, well, what can I say, except that practice makes perfect.

***

Thank you all for your comments and discussion. I read every single reply and find much value in your experiences.

Disclaimer, this is an account of my Lyme symptoms and treatment, it is not intended to be used in the treatment of anyone’s condition. Please consult and work with your physician if you think you may have Lyme.

Let me know if you have any questions about my Lyme symptoms and/or treatment, if I don’t have the answer, I’ll find someone who does.

***
Wendy Thomas writes about the lessons learned while raising children and chickens in New Hampshire. Contact her at Wendy@SimpleThrift.com

Also, join me on Facebook to find out more about the flock (children and chickens) and see some pretty funny chicken jokes, photos of tiny houses, and even a recipe or two.

Like what you read here? Consider subscribing to this blog so that you’ll never miss a post. And feel free to share with those who may need a little chicken love.

4 Comments

Filed under Life Lessons, Lyme Disease, New Hampshire, Personal

4 responses to “Lesson 882 – A game of chicken

  1. Lee

    How soon after you take the meds can you eat something? I’m thinking of a peppermint tea chaser. Have you tried crystalized ginger?

    • Wendy Thomas

      I’m not supposed to eat 2 hours before and 1 hour after the meds. I’ve tried ginger and peppermints, sometimes that works sometimes it doesn’t.

      Doc Holiday told me that it was okay to nibble on a few crackers if it helped keep things down. In the evenings this does seem to help, I just need to learn to carry crackers with me, where ever I go (morning sickness all over again)

      Wendy

  2. I hope you receive this! Attached is a free (with my compliments) book I wrote on how I put my Lyme into full remission. After over a decade of fighting Lyme (I think I was bitten circa 1990 – first showed symptoms in about 1993 but it took over 20 high priced – wasted money quack doctors before I found one (2005) who not only diagnosed me with Wilson’s Syndrome but also lead me to find a path to recover from Lyme (NOT cured but put symptoms into complete remission). In early 2011 I was so sick with Lyme I was confined to bed and had to crawl to the bathroom. Doctors gave up on me and told me “you’ll be dead within a month — time to bring your will up to date”. When I was still alive a month later I decided what energy and mental accuity I still had to use my decades of experience as a researcher (not in medicine but most of pure research is the same no matter what you study). Anyway, it all narrowed down to what I had already been told of but had paid little attention to — Wilson’s Syndrome. I began taking T3 (Triiodothyronine) that raised my body temperature from where it was (92 degrees) to the norm of 98.6. As I was told would happen it took months but my body at 98.6 finally began to detox. My pH had been as low as 4.3 (below 4 and you’re probably dead – you are THAT toxic). When my pH went above six (it is now 6.8) I felt so much better! Metabolism is the furnace of the body. With the body’s temperature as low as 92 degrees it is the same as an automobile with 80 weight sludge in it for oil. My metabolism had ground almost to a halt. With it back to working properly my body detoxed (ony the body can detox itself) and I was 80% well (or feeling well – I still had and have Lyme). Then my current Lyme doctor (the first truly “Lyme literate” doctor I’ve ever known) told me she had discovered a trial of six of her 400 Lyme patients all of them had become highly gluten intolerant. I immediately gave up gluten (giving up white bread was very difficult for me) and I felt MUCH better within two days! As an aside she’s discovered over 90% of her Lyme patients have very low body temperatures and has put them all on T3 hearing of my success with T3. It’s only been four months but she told me last week the combination of no gluten and detoxing the body with T3 has allowed her to remove antibiotics from the prescriptions of all but twenty of her over 400 Lyme patients. She WAS going to write her own book echoing mine but it would gain more acceptance with the author being an M.D. BUT the AMA, DEA, CDC “evil” (IMO) recently threatened to take her medical license away “if you take on one more Lyme patient!”. She has shelved her plans for a book and plans to, instead, publish a paper under a pen name in a private medical journal that allows such privacy of authorship. Like almost all Lyme doctors she practices in secrecy listing her practice as “sports medicine”. She told me “I have exactly two patients for sports medicine”. A medical journal article is better than nothing I guess. Just as the AMA knew the compete HIV/AIDS story as early as 1964 but covered it up in return for millions of dollars in “donations” from insurance companies (so they could deny medical claims saying “the AMA say this disease does not exist – the individual is a hypochondriac”) they are doing the same thing with Lyme telling the world Lyme either doesn’t exist or is minor, few people actually have it and those who do are easily cured with a few weeks of doxycycline. It took thousands of gay young men dying to gain the attention of congress and finally an admission by the AMA that HIV/AIDS does exist, is major and can be deadly. The same is happening with Lyme but much slower as we don’t have such a unified “politically loud” group as tens of thousands of gay young men were and are as a group. Anyway, that is 95% of my book right there. Detoxing to counter Wilson’s Syndrome plus giving up gluten. I now wish I had not retired early and sold my companies. My health is again fine and I was bored fr months until I found new endeavors. One was to write a book detailing how I put my Lyme into remission. I’ve given away far more copies than I’ve sold. I don’t need the money. I just enjoy receiving e-mails from people who were VERY sick like me with Lyme but now “I have my life back!!” (the phrase I read most often in e-mails). I receive hundreds of e-mails a day regarding Lyme. The book has been out long enough now that I receive as many “I’m so much better!!” e-mails as I do “I was given your name as someone who might be able to help me with the Lyme disease I think I have – doctors are of no help at all or tell me I’m not sick and should see a psychiatrist”. Anyway, just seeing all of the people who are experiencing the same Lyme remission I’ve accomplished is worth the effort I put into writing the book. Anyway, if you decide to try what I did I hope you find the same relief from Lyme I’ve experienced. It’s difficult for me to remember I still have Lyme which means my immune system is still almost non-existent. I avoid crowds and use liquid antiseptic gel CONSTANTLY when I am in public. Remember – you won’t feel better for a few months after your body temperature returns to 98.6 degrees as it takes a few months for the body to detox enough for you to notice it. Stopping the ingestion of gluten will improve how you feel within days. Best regards, Gary Yantis book attached in pdf format

    _____

    • Wendy Thomas

      Thank you for your comments. You’ve raised some interesting points about body temperature. I’ve read of some cases where people have voluntarily exposed themselves to Malaria for the high fevers which they claim wipe out the Lyme spirochete. It’s a very dangerous method but it does seem to corroborate your theory that if you raise the body temp, you control the disease.

      Thank you for adding this.

      Wendy

Leave a Reply

