Lesson 815 – Quotable Chicks

Friday’s Quotes for the Chicks

DSCN0757

And muse on Nature with a poet’s eye.
Thomas Campbell

This is a handmade “Voodoo Chicken” (also known as a pin cushion.) A very good friend (hi Gina) picked her up for me because, well, she knows I love me some chicken things.

You are supposed to stick pins into this chicken when you are having a bad day, or a difficult time with someone in your life. You can finally “give it” to those who so deserve it.

But instead of doing that, I’ll be renaming my chicken from “Voodoo” to “muse.” And instead of reminding me of my troubles and tempting me to expend any of my precious creative energy on something that’s out of my control, like angry reactions to a piece I wrote, or a sullen teen’s once again reply of “I don’t care,” I will instead look upon this whimsical creature sitting on a shelf near my computer and be inspired by the many stories she, no doubt, will be able to whisper in my ear.

***

As always, peaceful weekend everyone, health and happiness (and safety) to your flock.

***
Wendy Thomas writes about the lessons learned while raising children and chickens in New Hampshire. Contact her at Wendy@SimpleThrift.com

Also, join me on Facebook to find out more about the flock (children and chickens) and see some pretty funny chicken jokes, photos of tiny houses, and even  a recipe or two. 

3 Comments

Filed under Chick Literature, Life Lessons, Personal, Quotable Chicks, Teaching kids, The Family

3 responses to “Lesson 815 – Quotable Chicks

  1. My wife is faithful to her Dominique hens. At the urging of a neighbor, she took a flyer on a couple of black “sex-link” hens. After a Thanksgiving dinner at our daughter’s, we came home to find a hawk had feasted on one of the “blackies.” (Probably told this tale before. More and more senior moments.). Blackie is at the bottom of the hen pecking order. She is the final hen (probably) still laying eggs. We have two pullets about one or two months away from laying eggs. Will we have to resort to buying “store boughten eggs” for a month or two? Will we have to buy them from our wonderful neighbors with whom I am barely on speaking terms at the moment? (Don’t ask.) Is Pauline tied to the railroad tracks? (Note: there are no railroads on Whidbey Island.)

    The pullets are sequestered in a separate pen until they are big enough to merge safely in the flock. As bottom of the pecking order, “Blackie” patrols the pullet pen. Perhaps she is saying to pullets, “Welcome to the flock.” Perhaps she is saying, “Just you wait. Once you feel my beak, you will know your place in the flock.”

    “Big Mama” has always been the top of the pecking order. Big Mama was so ill, my wife was getting ready to mourn her. Big Mama has bounced back. “Moll” (#2) thought, “I can take her!” Wings flapped, ferocious squawks ensured, beaks pecked. Moll is still #2. Big Mama, though (probably) no longer laying, and definitely moving slower than she used to, is still #1 in the flock.

    Today, Big Mama was over by the pullets’ pen conversing with the pullets, Perhaps she was saying, “Welcome to the flock.” Perhaps she was saying, “I just want you to know just who is boss around here, so there are no misunderstandings.” The pullets, silly teenagers, just ran around and pecked rather aimlessly at every leaf of grass or tiny bug that caught their eye.

    • Wendy Thomas

      My what an exciting life you have over there on that island!

      Last winter, we almost had to buy eggs as due to the winter decrease in production, we found that we didn’t have enough to make our “neighborhood” pound cake. It would have broken my heart to do so. Luckily our girls pulled through (pushed out) with exactly what we needed.

      Also, we had a hawk, sitting in a tree, looking down hungrily at our flock yesterday. We hurried everyone into the coop while I shook my fist at the hawk.

      Good luck with your pullets. I *think* they should start laying pretty soon right? (not sure of the date when you first got them.)

Leave a Reply

