Lesson 793 – Grasshoppers and babies

The high schoolers have finals this week which means that they are getting home early from school.

 

And this also means that they are hanging around the house, half-studying and half-bugging mom.

 

“Mom, can you drive me to the store?”

 

“Mom, what’s for lunch?”

 

“Mom….”

 

Yesterday in an attempt to buy a few minutes of time so that I could finish an article I was working on, I sent Addy outdoors with my camera (be careful, I just got it back from being repaired) to take a few pictures of our new babies.

 

I want to remind you that this is my daughter Addy, who has yet to meet a baby she didn’t love. All I can say is – Addy, sweetheart, be careful, that’s how you end up with 6 kids.

 

Here are some of her masterpieces.

 

DSCN0563

 

DSCN0572

 

DSCN0581

 

And of this one, Addy said:

 

“Look at how that one is so proud and puffing out his chest. I’m thinking that one’s a male.”

 

 DSCN0600

 

Ah, little grasshopper, you’ve learned well.  Now go back to studying.

 

 

***
Wendy Thomas writes about the lessons learned while raising children and chickens in New Hampshire. Contact her at Wendy@SimpleThrift.com

Also, join me on Facebook to find out more about the flock (children and chickens) and see some pretty funny chicken jokes, photos of tiny houses, and even a recipe or two.

1 Comment

Filed under All things chickens, Backyard Chickens, chicken care, Life Lessons, Mama Hen, Maran chickens, Violet

One response to “Lesson 793 – Grasshoppers and babies

  1. Aww, they are so adorable. It is great that Addy is learning about raising chickens while she is young. That is how I got hooked on them. I hope to instill this in my granddaughter who loves my chickens so much, she asks me to send her pictures from my phone when she is not here. She is 6 years old. Two weekends a month she spends with us. I hope to make her a backyard farmer yet🙂

Leave a Reply

