Lesson 747 – Sexing Violet by her body and feet

I may be setting myself up to being served a giant piece of crow pie in the next few weeks,  but I’m still going to go with the prediction that Violet is a girl.

First there were the sexing by tiny wing feathers which although difficult to see, I made the determination that they looked more like a female’s (uneven feathers) than a male’s (even feathers.)

Now, I have additional information based more on my experiences with chickens than anything else.

First, when violet is resting, she stands more horizontally than vertically. I’ve found that this is the typical stance for a pullet as opposed to a cockerel. The boys tend to be more upright, their chests thrust forward, while the girls, tend to be lower to the ground and steadier.

2013-04-15_08-16-29_792

Also, there are her legs. The boys tend to have very thick legs, so thick that they catch your attention. And while it’s a little difficult to make any kind of comparison when you only have a single chick, when I look at Violet’s legs, I don’t immediately think that they are overly large or thick.

2013-04-15_08-17-54_631

Nope, to me they just look like a chicken’s leg (that happens to have feathers sprouting out of the sides.)

Lastly, Violet’s bum feathers have popped out, and while to many this might make her look more male than female, in the fast feathering females, the tail feathers come out quickly and then slow down. With the males, the feathers take longer to emerge but when they do, look out.

So I’m still going to go with female, but I’ve ordered that pie, just in case.

***
Wendy Thomas writes about the lessons learned while raising children and chickens in New Hampshire. Contact her at Wendy@SimpleThrift.com

Also, join me on Facebook to find out more about the flock (children and chickens) and see some pretty funny chicken jokes, photos of tiny houses, and even a recipe or two. 

5 Comments

Filed under All things chickens, Backyard Chickens, Charlie, Life Lessons, Personal, The Family, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Lesson 747 – Sexing Violet by her body and feet

  1. I am pretty sure I have never eaten crow, though I suppose if I were hungry enough (or embarrassed enough), I would slurp it down.

    My wife claims that the current four hens are learning to live in harmony and are cutting down on the nasty pecking order pecking. I don’t want to be pecked, so I am not arguing with her. I don’t learn much, but having been married for 47 years, a lesson or two has penetrated a thick skull.

  2. All sounds very convincing. We shall see…

  3. What interesting observations.
    I found an abandoned and neglected, left to die guinea pig in the woods once and name her Hope but it was a boy…but the name worked for Bob so no great problem there and I’m pretty sure guinea pigs aren’t effected by societal initiated gender confusion. Also had a foster gpig give birth to twins and the professionals miss-sexed them at early ages. I brought them back in when one of these things was not like the others. I had 3 females in foster and this other one was all rough and tumble and big and just different, only to find out…whoops that’s a boy (who I had named after my mother, she did not quite understand the honor)

    • Wendy Thomas

      I’m not too worried about the name. Violet’s full name is “Violet Beauregard” if she turns out to be a male, she’ll just be called “Beau.”

      Although we’ve had roosters in the past named “Betty” and “Princess Tiny.”

      Wendy

  4. I think you are right about how they hold their bodies/how they stand. And the legs are always a give away….although I have ended up with a few pullets with big legs…heck, I have them myself. My granddaughter is my chicken partner and we have been discussing this very thing the last few weekends. We had two left from the first hatch and thought boy/girl….this last weekend we finally determined girl/girl. The five from the second hatch….are 3/2 but the jury is still out on which way. The turkeys are a wash…..will have to worry about those six creatures later. Now Barred anything is much easier….more white than black when they are starting to feather out…so they look grayish is a cockerel. More black with white and a black wash down the legs…pullet. That is the extent of what I know.

Leave a Reply

