Lesson 647 – After Winter Storm Athena

Overall not bad.

Once again, didn’t lose electricity and the roast along with a gingerbread I had made for dinner kept us well fed throughout the windy night (and, lucky for us, will provide leftover  pot pies for tonight.)

The chickens aren’t too happy to see the snow.  Although I’ve heard of some chickens liking the icy crystals, my birds have never enjoyed walking on it. Unless the snow melts (and there is that possibility, after all, it’s only November) my birds will be enclosed birds for the rest of the season.

A few things to note about this particular photo:

  • The large limbs on the ground in the background – those are what scare us during every storm. When the wind blows hard, we hear them crashing down all night.
  • The “dented” dog fence – that was a result of one of those very same limbs coming down during the Halloween storm last year.
  • I wasn’t kidding when I said we live under tall pines.
  • A wreath on the henhouse? Of course, why not?!

4 Comments

Filed under All things chickens, Inspiration, Life Lessons, members of the flock, New Hampshire, The Family

4 responses to “Lesson 647 – After Winter Storm Athena

  1. Wow! Were I live we get snow in January and February, I’ve never had snow in November or December!

  2. It is so strange to be living here at the bottom of the world (New Zealand) and we are rejoicing that summer is coming.

  3. I was just going to comment on your wreath, then I got to the last line of your note.
    You’re right, why not?

  4. No snow yet. As I mentioned elsewhere, it’s cold and our eldest hens spent most of the day “cuddling” on the perch and refused to go outside.to the chicken run.

Leave a Reply

