Lesson 490 – Quotable Chicks

Friday’s Quotes for the Chicks 

Pippin and Fatty Madi

“The better part of one’s life consists of his friendships.”
– Abraham Lincoln

Pippin is our last remaining dog (we lost Nessa Rose and Digger this past fall.) He’s a sweet little pup who has a terrible overbite resulting in a wee bit of a lisp when he barks and a tongue that never seems to stay in his mouth. Cute as the day is long, Pippin has a solid place in this flock that we call ours.

Happy weekend everyone.


5 Comments

Filed under Chick Literature, Inspiration, Life Lessons, Quotable Chicks

5 responses to “Lesson 490 – Quotable Chicks

  1. In another spot where I participate, a person argued strenuously for getting a llama to protect our chickens against predators such as coyotes and raccoons. I told him I doubted a llama could kick a chicken hawk out of the air as it zoomed in on a hen. (We now have distraction streamers attached to the overhead netting up; no more attacks so far.)

    • Wendy Thomas

      I don’t know, a lama is a pretty impressive creature – I’d think twice before approaching one.

      Although I’ve got to say that the distraction streamers are probably far less maintenance.

      Have a nice weekend.

      Wendy

  2. The chickens have not been attacked again. My wife thinks they are now being more watchful, looking up more; and spending more time hiding in the ferns. Frankly, I doubt that chickens even remember that there are hawks around.

    Today, however, the hawk was back, though not in the chicken run. There was an incident at the bird feeder, probably involving a dove. My wife does not know if the dove survived. As doves are long-time symbols of peace (at least to humans), I am not sure the hawk’s choice of prey was exactly “politically correct.” If I see the hawk, I will speak to it about the merits and virtues of adopting a vegan diet.

  3. I’m trying to imagine a bark with a lisp…

    On another note, I’ve named you in our own “Versatile Blogger” page – http://bit.ly/xyOEpn. It seems like a good way to recognize and publicize blogs, but since it has some similarities to the dreaded chain emails, please be very assured that I am applying no pressure for you to participate and hold no contempt should you decide not to!

    I enjoy your blog and very much appreciate what I’ve learned from it.

    Pat

    • Wendy Thomas

      Actually we do most of the lisping for him, we tend to call him Pipperths instead of Pippin. I realize it not entirely politically correct but is sure is cute.

      Thanks for this vote of confidence! I’ll be writing a post about this later this week.

      Wendy

Leave a Reply

