Lesson 305 – Words for my little chick who is away

An open letter to my little chick; Griffin who has temporarily left the flock to be with his High School robotics team at the FIRST National competition in St. Louis.



  • Have fun with your friends
  • Eat good food and each day try at least one thing that is new or local
  • Pick up a local newspaper and see what is going on around you
  • Find a radio and tune into a local station for a bit
  • Compliment every female you see on something – a book they are reading, a necklace they are wearing. Trust me, you’ll make their day.
  • Likewise, if you see someone walking a dog comment on how handsome the dog is. No doubt that dog will get extra attention as a result.
  • Touch base with home – we care and worry about you
  • If you get lost ask for directions
  • If you get cranky – either rest or eat some protein – it helps
  • If you win, you deserve it. Your team worked hard.
  • If you don’t win – no worries, your team still won because they worked hard.
  • I know you don’t want to but take your meds.
  • I know you don’t want to but take a shower – every day (chicks dig it)
  • Know that I have absolute confidence in you. You are an incredible person who has already made an impression on this world of ours.
  • Continue to always grow – know in your heart that nothing, absolutely nothing can ever stop you.

Take care and don’t forget to drink lots of water




Filed under Chicks, Inspiration, Life Lessons, Personal, Teaching kids, The kids

7 responses to “Lesson 305 – Words for my little chick who is away

  1. Hey sis: Great words from a fabulous mom to a rockin’ kid! You are an inspiration. Go Grif!

  2. Brian St. Onge

    Very nice, except for that asking directions bit. C’mon……you know men don’t ask directions. It may take us a little longer to get where we’re going, but we get there eventually. And we get to see a lot of sights along the way that we would otherwise have missed!

    • Wendy Thomas


      Yes, I know men don’t ask for directions but perhaps my men-in-training might be a new breed (yeah, right).

      Point made. Sometimes the adventure comes from single-handedly figuring your way out.


  3. I guess I don’t fit. My wife generally will not ask directions; more frequently I am the one who will do so.

    • Wendy Thomas

      Before the advent of GPS, I had to ask for directions or I would have never found my way back home. Yup, never been good with maps or directions, I tend to remember things in reverse (really that’s on the right side of the road, I could have sworn it was on the left).


  4. Pingback: Letting Go of Your High School Senior | Organize NH Blog

  5. Pingback: Letting Go of Your High School Senior | Organize for a Fresh Start

Leave a Reply

