Lesson 601 – Charlie the percher

Charlie is a percher. I have never seen a chicken who loves to perch on high so much. I think that part of this behavior could be attributed to her growing up inside the house. It just might be that she prefers wooden floors to coop woodchips.

I am just constantly amazed at where I’ll find her. Sometimes she’s up near the rooftops sitting on a tiny, post ledge.

Sometimes she’s on a roosting bar overlooking the rest of the flock.

And sometimes Charlie is just sitting on top of the water can, lording over all.

If you want to find Charlie in our henhouse, I’m afraid that you’ll just have to constantly look up.

5 Comments

Filed under All things chickens, Backyard Chickens, Charlie

5 responses to “Lesson 601 – Charlie the percher

  1. Hey sis! Perhaps as you say, wood-chips just aren’t very comfortable. So is all this roosting pretty typical? Does Charlie get out and hunt around for bugs and stuff in the yard?

  2. Ha! Hey they all have their own thing I guess. I have a hen who stands (and poops) in the drinker all day. ???

  3. Our Andy loves to perch as well. My other half built a ‘perch tree’ for the peeps, and Andy is it’s biggest fan. She’s usually found near the top, although most of the other girls that use it stick to the bottom four or five perches.

  4. Charlie the hen that acts like a cat! Cat loves height! :)

  5. Octoowl

    My Baby Bird (yes, thats her name) loves to perch on my shoulder even at about 8 weeks, she comes running up to me when I get home from work and flies up to my shoulder. Copper Marains are the best

Leave a Reply

