Lesson 319 – A medicine bag and a chicken

***

By the time most of you read this I will be unconscious.

But no worries, I’m actually paying someone (lots of) money to be made unconscious. I’ll be down in the Boston area having some exploratory surgery done on my knee. This will be the 14th operation on this leg as a result of being hit by a car (I was on a bike) when I was a teen. My last operation on this leg was almost 2 years ago, let’s just say that the results were a little (lot) shy of desirable. Some say that all this surgery is terrible – what bad luck I’ve had throughout my life. Not me, I actually think I’m pretty lucky. It’s the surgeries that have kept me walking all this time. Things could have been worse, a lot worse.

Today’s surgery is really not a big deal (but I will be the first to tell you that there is no such thing as a surgery that is not a big deal) they are just going to look around and maybe take a tissue biopsy or two.

The point of this surgery is to figure out exactly what can be done in a future more extensive, last chance salvage operation. THAT one will be a big deal with the possibility of broken bones, transplants, and many, many months of rehab. But I’m not going to think about that one right now.

And besides, I won’t know what will be proposed until I know. So why worry?

For today, I’m simply taking life as it comes. Which includes a bit of time at a hospital. Tonight, I’ll be back home with those in my flock.

I’ll have my medicine bag with me. I take it places where I know I’ll need a little bit more super power than I normally have. I mentioned this recently on Facebook (if you’d like to friend me, please do) and some of my friends didn’t know what a medicine bag was.

Medicine bag

My medicine bag is where I keep my mojo, it’s my very own Popeye’s spinach. Everyone should have their own medicine bag for that little bit of extra needed strength. If you don’t have one, in order to help you think about putting one together, I thought I’d show you the contents of mine.

This is a rose quartz worry stone (shaped like an egg, I might add). It heats up quickly from your body’s heat reflecting the warmth right back into your core. Smooth shiny, calm – a summer afternoon breeze, perfect to hold when you want to slow yourself down.

A goddess figurine. It reminds me of the strength of all women, If we can push those babies out, we can endure and accomplish anything.

A keychain I got when two of my sons and I visited Wimbledon in London. I love tennis. I’ve played tennis in the past – even attended Nike Tennis camps in the summer. I will play tennis again.

A Buddhist medallion I got from some visiting monk friends whom we’ve seen over the years when they’ve come to our region to build their mandalas. I was told the symbol stands for “Ohm” all inclusive, everything is one, we are part of a whole. I’ve never looked it up because I don’t want to discover that it’s actually Tibetan for “eat at Joes”, I’d rather maintain the illusion. Although I love it, I promise you it will not end up being a tattoo on my body.

This seashell was on a wedding basket made by one of my best friends in the world; Jackie. Jackie died a few years ago and I still miss her terribly. The shell reminds me of her, how important friendship is and that you know, live your life with integrity and grace, you just never know when it will be taken away from you.

Blessing beads. A really good friend of mine designed these and I gave them away during a gathering of friends I had hosted. Every night I use them to list the blessings in my life. It’s pretty hard to think you’ve had a rotten day when there is so much to be grateful for. There are beads for 11 blessings and the final large bead is used to send out a wish for someone or something else. When I gave these away I told my friends that if they couldn’t come up 11 things to be grateful for every single day of their lives then they weren’t paying attention.

St. Francis prayer – this little prayer speaks to me. It’s the one about using us instruments of peace – a good solid guideline on how to live a decent life. We can be mean and nasty and angry but what is it going to get you? How much better it is to sow affirming seeds planting the possibility of goodness around you.

My newest addition is this chicken pin. A friend (I have lots of really great friends) gave it to me when I sent a call out for something chicken related that could go into my medicine bag. Our chickens have made me smile, laugh, and care for them in a way that surprised even me. Not a day goes by when I don’t learn something from them (the key as with many other things in life is to be quiet enough to hear what they are saying).

Lastly, I have a solid metal brick that reminds me to breathe because even if you are prepared for pain, even if you think you are strong and can withstand assault – sometimes you can’t.

It’s nice to have a reminder that although at times breathing is all you can do – sometimes that’s enough for now.

See you all next week.

5 Comments

Filed under All things chickens, Backyard Chickens, Chicken art, Inspiration, Life Lessons, Personal, Project Chickens before the Eggs

5 responses to “Lesson 319 – A medicine bag and a chicken

  1. Sending you lots of love and healing thoughts, Wendy!

  2. Karen W

    In my thoughts and prayers.

  3. Sending my wishes and hopes the surgery goes well for you.

  4. Julie Bachand

    intresting- the more I read the more I realize we have in common! Curious- the gathering of friends- is that something you do occasionally and what exactly it is? I ask because that term can mean more that just a BBQ !
    Again- LOVE the blog!
    feel better soon- oh and you shoul look into some quantum touch or NLP mabey be worth a try- worth thing that could happen is it doesnt work as you know Im all for things with no side effects! LOL!
    Enjoy your day!

  5. Pingback: Lesson 323 – A bit of coop-keeping « Lessons Learned from the Flock

Leave a Reply

