Lesson 306 – The mystery of a rabbit on a chicken

Patricia contacted me through this blog because her mother gave her a “gag Easter gift” – a small statue of a bunny on a chicken. “It was so bizarre, she and my brother had a good laugh over it and decided to buy it for me. I wondered…why is this bunny on this chicken??? Is this some holiday tradition??? After Googling, I found your blog post and was dumbfounded by the similarities between our treasures. I have to know what this means!”

This is Patricia’s statue:

And this is mine from my recent post:

I’ve tried but I can not for the life of me figure out why a bunny would be riding a chicken. I’ve looked up European fairy tales, legends, stories, and I can’t find any reference to a mythical society where rabbits routinely ride chickens.

Rabbits are typically symbols of fertility and therefore an appropriate mascot for Spring where we literally have the rebirth of the earth so that might explain the rabbit. And eggs are also considered a symbol of fertility so maybe someone created a mashup of favorite fertility symbols (and here is where I, the mother of 6, say I am glad that no one has ever created a statue of me riding a chicken).

Here’s my question for the day, does anyone out there have any knowledge of bunnies riding chickens (I’m talking to you ex-English teacher modesty). Is there something that Patricia and I are missing or is it just that two designers from different parts of the world decided that “hey – a rabbit on top of a chicken. I bet that would sell.”

****

Update: High points go to my friend Jamie with her answer to this mystery:

“Clearly the bunny needed the chicken to get across the road. ;)”

1 Comment

Filed under All things chickens, Backyard Chickens, Chicken art, Chicken things, Personal, Project Chickens before the Eggs

One response to “Lesson 306 – The mystery of a rabbit on a chicken

  1. …(I’m talking to you ex-English teacher modesty). Is there something that Patricia and I are missing or is it just that two designers from different parts of the world decided that “hey – a rabbit on top of a chicken. I bet that would sell.

    First of all, I am a man, and a very cynical one at that. The first thought that occurs to me is one that is perhaps not appropriate for a family blog.

    When my 7-year-old granddaughter visits our exurban five acres/large garden/three-chicken “homestead” on an island (from her home in Seattle), she pets the chickens, who obligingly squat down for her ministrations. Even as bad a grandpa as I am, I don’t explain to her that their “squat” is part of their genetic makeup of reacting to a rooster.

    For that matter, we have lots of bunnies in our woods (which I shoot with a pellet rifle when they approach our organic garden). Bunnies of course multiply “like bunnies” as the saying goes.

    I leave it to my granddaughter’s mommies to explain the” facts of life” to her:

    Facts which include:

    a) Most animals reproduce by mating (and humans are coy and embarrassed about it)

    b) Humans (even though some are reluctant about it and become vegetarians or vegans or just refuse to eat their chickens) are omnivores.

    You and I and even our sweet little granddaughter (who is a bit of a drama queen) should come to terms with this.

    “Hi-yo Silver” calls the bunny as he rides into the sunset aboard the chicken.

Leave a Reply

