Project Chickens before the Eggs – Lesson 191 – Some things are meant to be

You know how sometimes some things were just meant to be?

One of the forms of entertainment I enjoy most in life is to go yard-saling on a Saturday morning (with or without the kids). Looking through tables and tables of stuff other people have collected and now feel the need to get rid of gives me the vicarious pleasure of looking into the window of someone elses life . Why would anyone ever need a toilet paper cover shaped like a doll? An ashtray made from shell dyed pink from Florida? I love the stories behind the treasures and too often my kids end up pulling at my sleeves in an effort to make me quite the prolonged conversation I’m having with the owner of my latest find.

Is there history behind this, I’ll ask as I hold up a Black Velvet Elvis painting? (seriously, I thought those were only jokes in movies). Tell me, tell me the story.

I can yard sale for hours.

These days, I’m on the lookout for chicken items, anything that has to do with chickens is fair game. The kids are much better at spotting the elusive chicken item than I am. Often they’ll pull me back to a table I’ve already passed over. “How about this rooster cheese board?” they’ll ask me.

But of course, how could I have missed it?

Recently I was decluttering a room in our house (don’t get excited, it’s about as effective as holding the tide back with a spoon) and I found an old picture I had gotten years ago while yard-saling. At the time I had (many) little babies and the picture spoke to me.

When I picked it up, I felt a momentary sadness. The babies are gone. Some are even starting to learn how to live on their own. My job as a protector of tiny ones is over and with that realization came a bit of the inevitable mourning all mothers of aging children go through. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t miss the days (trust me, I don’t) but on the other hand I do miss them (trust me, I do).

Ah well, I thought as I turned the picture over placing it in the donate pile. It was then I noticed what was on the back. In a day when it was important to reuse everything with nothing going to waste, someone had used cardboard from an old egg box as backing.

There’s no need to get rid of the picture now.  Some things are just meant to be. The picture has been able to move surprisingly yet seamlessly from one stage of my life into another. Just as a mother is expected to do when her chicks so little at one time get old enough to begin leaving the nest.

2 Comments

Filed under All things chickens, Backyard Chickens, Personal, Project Chickens before the Eggs, Teaching kids, The Family, The kids

2 responses to “Project Chickens before the Eggs – Lesson 191 – Some things are meant to be

    • wethomas

      David,

      Kind of sends Goose (chicken :-) ) bumps, doesn’t it? I love it when things work out.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      Wendy

Leave a Reply

