Project Chickens before the Eggs – Lesson 183 – One mom’s trash is another chick’s treasure

I don’t rant about my kids often, I am, after all, as a parenting journalist considered to be somewhat of an authority on the subject HOWEVER, I am also, after all, very HUMAN. Consider this a rant.

You know how last week I wrote a post about the never ending cycle of planning the meals, going out to the grocery store, getting the food, bringing it home, putting it away, and then taking it out in bits throughout the week in order to assemble it into daily meals?

If you caught the reference at the end, I likened this to a hen laying an egg every other day for years on end with no break. It’s her part in life. It’s what she does and sure she can complain but it’s not really going to get her anywhere but discouraged.

Today, I am discouraged.

Let me back up just a bit. I usually do my grocery shopping on Sundays. That’s right, I have this thing down to an art and in just a few hours on Sunday I’m able to get all the food this family of 8 needs for the following week. But this Sunday I was in Portsmouth giving a presentation with a partner of mine; Jamie Wallace on blogging.

So the shopping didn’t get done.

Thankfully we had a lasagna in the freezer that got pulled out for dinner on Sunday.

And on Monday I pulled out my ever resourceful bag of frozen meatballs. That with a jar of red sauce on low for a few hours became our meatball subs for dinner.

Tuesday’s dinner was looking pretty bleak. I knew I could go no longer, I had to do the grocery shopping. So after dropping off one child at gymnastics, I rushed to the grocery store filled my cart, got the groceries home, threw out directions for dinner to my older son (Yup.) (It was Marc’s turn to give a presentation in Manchester so dinner was up to the kids), told the kids to put the groceries away (Yup.) and dashed out the door with my two soccer players who had a practice starting in exactly 5 minutes.

When I came home what I expected to see was dinner made and the groceries all put away. I thought I’d see the bags of bagels in the bread box or at the very least on the counter looking something like this:

 

Bagels where they belong

 

What I found instead was the 3 dogs, one on each couch in the living room, eating the bagels they had ripped from the grocery bags found on the floor – dog level where us owners had conveniently left them.

Seriously???!!!! Even though you actually acknowledged my requests (remember that Yup?) even though you had to STEP OVER THE GROCERIES in order to make dinner, it didn’t occur to you to put them away?

Do you have any idea of the waste of time and effort this represents? I could have saved us a lot of time and aggravation by just buying the bagels at the store, ripping the bag open and throwing them on the floor before I left the store, at least they would have done the clean up part. Or I could have saved even more work by simply throwing the money on the ground before I entered the store.

There are times, as a parent when you just have to walk away from the situation before you kill someone. Last night I walked away.

So here’s the deal kids:

I now know that “Yup.” means nothing. I’ve caught on, I’m not falling for that again. Be forewarned. Next time you ask for money and for me to take you to the movies, when I say “Yup.”, don’t be surprised when instead of reaching for the car keys I go up to my bedroom to play an online game with my friends.

This old dog has been taught.

But as always, today is a new day. The earth has turned, the sun has risen, a few good hours of sleep has dulled (but not completely erased) the sharp, twisted feelings of not being appreciated.

In case you are wondering, this is what ultimately happened to the bagels.

 

nom, nom, nom

 

Unlike me, instead of holding on to being discouraged about my children’s lack of responsibility – their inability to see the lost work and effort involved, the harried frenetic strain this placed on an already harried frenetic mother, my chickens were delighted and saw the bagels for what they truly were – little lumps of baked grain that in the overall scheme of things didn’t make much more of a difference than a filled belly for just a few minutes.

2 Comments

Filed under All things chickens, Backyard Chickens, Project Chickens before the Eggs, The Family, The kids

2 responses to “Project Chickens before the Eggs – Lesson 183 – One mom’s trash is another chick’s treasure

  1. Karen W

    I loved the part about you saying “Yup” and going up to play online games with your friends! I’ve sooo wanted to do that too! Just walk out of the kitchen and see what happens when the dinner doesn’t “magically” appear on the table!

    Thank you for the reminder that after some time (usually a good night’s rest) it doesn’t look as bad as it did the night before, and that we might even laugh about it!

  2. Lisa A.

    Oh my gosh! I think every mother (especially of pre-teens and teenagers) has felt this same way (I know I have), and if someone says they never have, they’re lying!

    My younger daughter uses the ‘my brain isn’t fully developed yet’ line of defense for incidents like these. Which, if I wasn’t so mad at her, would be a pretty convincing case. And then, they do something so thoughtful and caring that you immediately forget your feelings of neglect and under-appreciation and remember why you had kids in the first place.

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

