Project Chickens before the Eggs – Lesson 180 – Getting closer to the elusive Blue Polish Hen

I have been looking all over for a Polish hen to add to our flock. Polish hens, are some of the neatest looking birds around, if you thought the feathered headpiece on Simon was outstanding just wait until you see the head-bling on these babies.

Well hello Dolly!

The problem is that Polish hens are just not that easy to find. Not the best of egg layers, you have to be pretty attached to the breed to even consider keeping them. They are more of a show bird than anything else, which is exactly why I want one.

After going to a few chicken swaps this summer and not finding any, I placed a post on Craigslist asking if anyone had any (hens only) available.

Amanda answered my request letting me know that she had a straight run of Polish Hen chicks. Unlike, the sex-linked birds, there is no way to tell whether a Polish hen chick is a male or not (a very important piece of information for us urban chicken farmers). Amanda couldn’t guarantee that the ones I chose were female. I’d have to take my chances.

Oh no, absolutely not! I’m not going near any barn-yard cock if I can help it. Lessons learned (too many times) on that one.

Any adult females? I asked her.

She wrote back that she did have a Blue Polish that she would be willing to sell me. ‘I’ve got to warn you”, she wrote of the white crested blue, “she’s a beautiful bird, but not the brightest bulb in the box, She seems to be determined to nest in a group of bushes near our house, and one night an owl or something is going to spot her and consume her!”

Definitely my type of bird. I like the birds with a little “specialness” to them.

When I expressed interest, she then told me that the bird was actually part of a pair they called Lavern and Shirley, was I interested in both?

Okay, if you’ve read even one of the posts I’ve written about our chickens, you already know how I answered that question. Absolutely and resoundingly yes.

Amanda then went on to tell me: “ I have close to 100 birds that all free range together in my yard, male and female, and many many breeds! I also raise and breed fancy frizzles, so I have some pretty bizarre characters toddling about. My turkeys, Christmas and Thanksgiving are getting quite large, and He even made a gobbling sound the other morning for the first time, while Harry Plopper the duck is feathering in nicely, and still quite amusing in his own way! I also have 2 pairs of pheasants, and doves and pigeons as well. It is an eclectic family, but one that I enjoy! “

We’ve made arrangements and this weekend we are scheduled to pick up the two adult Blue Polish hens. Unfortunately, I’m going to be in Portsmouth giving a presentation so Marc will be swinging up North after Emma’s soccer game (conveniently the next town over) to pick up the birds. Right now their names are Lavern and Shirley but they are destined to have two great New York Times best selling author names. (I’m working on two wonderful authors and should have their interviews shortly).

Although I can’t go to pick up the birds, I’m going to try to set up a time in the future when I can visit with Amanda to see her flock and talk with her about her birds.

I just know that anyone who names her turkeys Christmas and Thanksgiving, (and yes, I know it’s morbid but admit it, it’s pretty funny) is my kind of gal.

3 Comments

Filed under All things chickens, Backyard Chickens, Project Chickens before the Eggs, The Chicken Challenge

3 responses to “Project Chickens before the Eggs – Lesson 180 – Getting closer to the elusive Blue Polish Hen

  1. Congratulations sis! You found a bird and a soul mate. I think Wendy and Amanda are the next pair names! Thank goodness Amanda raises turkeys, pheasants, and whatever so that your family can go up and visit rather than get any ideas about adding different birds to your current flock!

  2. Hello, I stumbled across your blog while researching for my own chicken blog! Funny, but sure glad I found yours, I subscribed, and will certainly be back! ae

Leave a Reply

