You Just Can’t Take The Princess Out Of The Girl

Last night, the girls and I watched a DVD I had gotten at a yard sale (for one dollar) called “The Prince and Me”. It was the story of a young, feisty college student who falls in love with her bumbling, awkward, (yet dreamy – go figure) lab partner who GUESS WHAT? happens to be a prince in disguise.

Even though it’s an old movie, I won’t give away the ending except to say that according to my daughters, it involves a lot of sweet jewelry and beautiful dresses, one of which Emma wants to wear when she goes to a coronation.

After the final scene as the credits rolled across the screen I turned to my daughters.

“Well?” I asked them, hoping to maybe get a critique on the story’s arc, themes, and progression.

“When I grow up, I want to be either a Princess or a Queen,” said Emma dreamily as she fluffed out her tee shirt removing any wrinkles that had gathered during the viewing.

I sighed.

With hope for the future of our species, I turned to Addy.

“And you?” I asked her.

“Me?” She said, “No worries mom, I just want to date a Prince.”

Parents of daughters take note:

You can fill your daughter with all of your best intentions. You can teach her to be assertive, to have vinegar in her blood, you can teach her to compete with the hardiest of them, but apparently you will never, ever be able to take the princess out of her.

So don’t even try.

Pretty, pretty Princess

Just go ahead buy them each a tiara to wear during this evening’s viewing of Ever After.

Trust me, you’ll all be a lot happier that way.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal, Teaching kids, The Family, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

