The Results – So how much did I save at Shaws?

Along with chips and ice cream this weekend, I ate a little crow. ShawsLogoHalo

As the result of an experiment I did last year comparing food prices in different stores, I stopped going to Shaws. With a budget of 140 dollars a week for 8 people, I figured that I couldn’t afford to shop there.

Based on a media summit I went to last week, I decided to take another look at Shaws. I carefully combed the weekly flyer, matched up what coupons I did with what was on sale, and noted what was on sale for 10 for 10 and 2 for 1. 

This is what I ended up getting:

2 large bags of pretzels

3 packages of English muffins

2 boxes of wheat thins

2 boxes of Triscuits

9 bags of Lays potato chips

2 pounds of ground beef (you’ll be seeing this in The Great Hamburger Experiment)

2 packages ball park franks

4 pounds of sirloin tips

1.5 pounds of chicken breasts

1 green pepper

2 boxes of ice cream

1 bottle salad dressing

1 bag of Chips ahoy cookies

2 boxes pasta salad mix

Box of 10 juices boxes

2 tubes of toothpaste

2 bottles of laundry detergent

1 box of dryer sheets

 

Total cost – 145.23

By using manufacturers’ coupons, store coupons, and preferred savings I ended up paying: $61.55 resulting in a savings $83.68. That’s pretty significant.

That is a boatload of food and there is an awful lot of meat in that grocery list. Meat is the one thing that can kill my budget faster than you can say Summer Bar-b-ques, so I was surprised to be able to get that much meat for such a reasonable price.

Here’s the thing though, I got a lot of stuff that I wouldn’t normally buy during a weekly shopping trip (no one needs 9 bags of chips in one week) but if you are willing to invest a little time looking into the specials, matching coupons, and are willing and able to store some food items (those 9 bags of chips will take us well through the summer) then putting Shaws on your shopping list just might be a profitable move.

Send your Simple Thrift Ideas tips and ideas to wendy@simplethrift.com

Follow Wendy’s thrifty Twitter tips at: https://twitter.com/SimpleThrift

SimpleThrift.com

SimpleThrift.com

4 Comments

Filed under Food Savings, Simple Thrift Tips

4 responses to “The Results – So how much did I save at Shaws?

  1. michellehov

    So glad to see your Shaw’s trip worked out well! In my experienced based onn what I buy, I feel Shaw’s is competitively priced. It almost doesn’t matter to me what the every day prices are on products; what is different about Shaw’s is that there are simply more opportunities to save. They have more items on sale than any other store, hence more coupon matches. They are one of the few stores to offere a good selection of store coupons which you can stack with manufacturers coupons. And, they are very liberal with their acceptance of competitor coupons.

    I don’t work for Shaw’s. I’m just a mom of 4 trying to save on my grocery budget!

  2. Rosemarie Rung

    Wendy, I am impressed that you got all that meat, but I didn’t see many vegetables and fruits, just the one green pepper. It raises an interesting question: what store offers the best value for a nutritious diet? Also, how do you get away having 6 children and not buying milk????

    • I haven’t found one store that does it all. We get most of our canned goods at Walmart, then go over to Market Basket for our produce, and lastly we now go to Shaws to get the super deals. Shopping takes about 2.5 hours on a Sunday afternoon but that is the only time we do food shopping all week so it’s not that bad.

      With regard to the milk: easy. All of my kids are lactose intolerant. They can handle a little bit of cheese and ice cream on occassion (the two boxes I got this weekend will last about 3 weeks. They all get tummy aches when they have milk so we give them calcium tablets and juice or water.

      Lactose Intolerance is certainly a way to keep the food budget down. :-)

  3. I am glad you had a great experience. I usually do well there with the packaged products as well, but I do need to go between Hannaford & Shaws to scope out the best produce deals. Although I shop at 7am and my Shaws has some of the ‘older’ produce at the back of the department marked down to bare minimum. So I can get a 3 pound bag of carrots for 79¢ and then steam them and freeze them for pennies.

    Loving your blog… keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

