The Great Hamburger Experiment: Meal 6 Addy’s Lazy Man’s Lasagna- 45 pounds to go

How many meals can you make out of 50 pounds of ground beef? I gave myself a challenge to see how many meals I could make for my family of 2 adults and 6 children (4 teenagers) using ground beef as the only meat in the meal.

Meal 6 – Addy’s Lazy Man’s Lasagna  I sent my oldest daughter Addy (age 10) to an afterschool cooking program where each week the kids learned to make dinners and desserts (which they then ate). 

Meal 6 - Addy's Lazy Man's Lasagna

Meal 6 - Addy's Lazy Man's Lasagna

At the end of the session, she came home with a recipe book and much to my delight insisted on making some of the family dinners (talk about a good investment!) One of the kids’ favorites quickly became Addy’s Baked Ziti. The recipe fills a large casserole sized dish and when you add salad and bread, it makes for a filling meal.

Last night we set out to make the Baked Ziti for The Great Hamburger Experiment but when we got to the part where you are supposed to add a ½ cup (yup a ½ cup!) of parmesan cheese, we realized that we had no parmesan cheese in the house.

But, as all moms know, being thrifty really comes down to being creative.

So I got out a 2 pound tub of Ricotta cheese (that had been on sale the previous week) and put one half of the tub (1 pound) into the mix. It’s just a mild creamy cheese, I told my daughter as she wrinkled her nose at the large white blob in the bowl.

I have to admit, I’m not the biggest fan of Baked Ziti, but this resulted in a creamy lasagna-like ziti of which all the kids (and my husband) had seconds. (And there was still enough left over for a lunch today).

For this meal I used 1 pound of ground beef.

Recipe – Addy’s Lazy Man’s Lasagna

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1 one pound box Ziti noodles
  • 3 cups total shredded Mozzarella cheese (reserve one cup for the top)
  • 1 pound Ricotta cheese
  • Italian herbs (optional)
  • Pasta Sauce 7.5 cups (Large jar of Sauce – we used Prego)
  • Directions:

Brown 1 pound of ground beef and a chopped onion. Drain oil when done

Boil a box of ziti noodles until cooked, drain

In a bowl, add:

  • The beef and onion mixture
  • 1 pound of Ricotta cheese
  • 2 of the cups of shredded Mozzarella cheese
  • The ziti noodles
  • A few pinches of Italian herbs (optional)
  • Pasta Sauce

Mix together and scoop into a large 9 by 13 casserole dish. Sprinkle the remaining shredded Mozzarella cheese on top.

Bake in a 350 oven for approximately 30 minutes or until the cheese on top melts.

Serve with salad and bread.

Note – this created such a nice creamy sauce for the noodles that the next time I would be tempted to add beans, cooked spinach, olives, or any other vegetables into the casserole.

 

Send your Simple Thrift Ideas tips and ideas to wendy@simplethrift.com

Follow Wendy’s thrifty Twitter tips at: https://twitter.com/SimpleThrift

SimpleThrift.com

SimpleThrift.com

18 Comments

Filed under Simple Thrift Tips, The Great Hamburger Experiment

18 responses to “The Great Hamburger Experiment: Meal 6 Addy’s Lazy Man’s Lasagna- 45 pounds to go

  1. Rosemarie Rung

    Rachael Ray has a recipe where you use frozen cheese ravioli in place of the pasta and ricotta. It makes it real easy and it’s delicious.

  2. Hello there! I simply would like to give you a big thumbs up for your great info you have right here on this post. I will be returning to your web site for more soon.

  3. What’s up, I check your blogs daily. Your humoristic style is awesome, keep it up!

  4. Hey There. I discovered your blog the use of msn. This is a really neatly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your helpful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  5. Just wish to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is just excellent and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  6. I have been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

  7. Hi Dear, are you really visiting this web site on a regular basis, if so afterward you will without doubt get fastidious experience.

  8. Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam remarks? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very much appreciated.

  9. I am now not certain the place you’re getting your info, however good topic. I must spend some time finding out much more or working out more. Thanks for magnificent info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  10. I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content available for you? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome blog!

  11. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  12. Remarkable! Its truly amazing piece of writing, I have got much clear idea regarding from this piece of writing.

  13. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a applicable deal. I have been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered vivid clear concept

  14. This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me. Thank you!

  15. Attractive part of content. I simply stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to say that I get in fact loved account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing in your feeds or even I fulfillment you access consistently rapidly.

  16. I have been surfing online greater than three hours as of late, but I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. It is beautiful price sufficient for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made just right content material as you probably did, the web might be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  17. Having read this I believed it was very informative. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this informative article together. I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

